Botched up the return process, am I out of my money?

I bought a camera but the seller sent me the wrong one. They agreed by message to a return. Now here is where dumb me screwed up. I've never done a return before so I was unaware of the process and rushed everything. 

I submitted the return request and immediantly went out and shipped the item back to them without using an ebay label. Now the seller has gone cold and has not replied to my messages (after being quick to reply before) so I'm afraid I screwed up and they know it and have taken my money and the item. It was a small seller. They didn't even accept the return request yet by the way, so I can't even upload a tracking number to prove I shipped it back...

Message 1 of 4
latest reply
3 REPLIES 3

Did you use a service with tracking to send the item back?   When you opened the return did you say that you were returning because the wrong night item was sent?  

If your answer was yes to both questions and if it has been less than 30 days since you opened the return, you can ask ebay to step in.  eBay will then likely tell you to return the item so you then enter the tracking number in the return. If tracking shows the item was delivered back to the seller you should be refunded within 2 days after delivery.

If it’s  past 30 days since you opened the return and you paid through Paypal and you have tracking, you can open a not as described claim through PP for up to 180 days after the purchase.

Message 2 of 4
latest reply

Cameras are fairly heavy and bulky, so you used a parcel rate.

Any domestic parcel service is tracked, so you are good if you Dispute through either eBay or Paypal.

When you show that the camera is back with the seller, he will be forced to refund you.

You will not be refunded the cost of the return shipping. Sorry.

If your seller is in the USA, and you used Small Packet USA for shipping, your refund is in the hands of the seller.