Delivering To Wrong Address?

ca.jo93
Community Member

Hi, everybody.

I am a Canadian citizen from Ottawa (the capital of Canada) and 2 days ago, I just ordered the Schuco "MiJo" 1/64 BMW Isetta from California and I found out yesterday that the tracking says "Out For Delivery, Expected Delivery by 8:00 PM" in Redondo Beach, California and that caused me to constantly worry about it for almost a day, thinking it may be delivered to a wrong address despite my correct (Canadian) shipping address.

It's my first time I ever purchased anything from California and I must have misinterpreted "Out For Delivery" as something else negative.

I am thinking it may go to somewhere in California for processing for shipping to Canada.

Is this how eBay international shipping works or is it something to worry about?

Is it just me or does anybody from outside the U.S. have experienced this?

Any help would be appreciated.

Thank you.

Message 1 of 9
latest reply
8 REPLIES 8

This is very common. Your seller is probably using a freight forwarder or consolidator, which means the item is first delivered to them then forwarded on to you. I have experienced this several times with California-based sellers and each time the item first went to an address in Redondo Beach before being dispatched to Canada. Hope this helps!

Message 2 of 9
latest reply

Thank you very much for your kind answer. 🙂
Message 3 of 9
latest reply

It's not all good.

The purchase will get to you just fine, but do note the window for delivery eBay gave you.

The problem is that if shipping is done to a freight forwarder like the Global Shipping Program or eBay's recent International Shipping (not sure of the exact name, it's that new) your Buyer Protection under the Money Back Guarantee is severely restricted.

Which makes shipping to a freight forward wonderful Seller Protection.