Difference between ebay.com and buying something from ebay.ca that ships from USA?

I'm new to Ebay and trying to purchase a laptop.

What is the difference between using ebay.com (and buying something that ships from the USA) and using ebay.ca (and also buying something that ships from the USA)?

In both cases, I probably have to go through the same issues with customs and sales tax, right? Also, I tried using my CIBC Visa Debit on something on ebay.ca (ships from US) and it wouldn't let me. Currently shifting funds to my paypal account to see if that works.

I'd like to buy a laptop, and between my fear of getting a bilingual keyboard and the better options I find in the US, it seems like ebay (of one sort or another) shipping from the US is my best bet. Hopefully they'll let me pay with my paypal.

I'm going to spend about $1k US on a laptop. Any advice, both as to my initial question, and as to best handle importing the laptop (customs, taxes, etc.) would be appreciated. I'm a total novice here. BTW would any of the websites and services like Borderlynx be helpful?

(In case it matters, I'm looking for a 17.3 laptop with at least 256 GB of SSD. If only 256 GB SSD, I'll need a HDD of some kind. If 512 GB SSD, then no SSD. I want a discrete GPU and Windows 10 and a 1080p rez. Maybe 8GB of memory. I'm totally into refurbished, if possible. And I don't mind older or weaker CPUs or GPUs. Not gonna game, but I'm gonna be away from the country for many years and I just want this to handle anything--short of high end games--that I can throw at it for the next 4 to 5 years.)

Message 1 of 11
latest reply
10 REPLIES 10

Difference between ebay.com and buying something from ebay.ca that ships from USA?

you might want to look into the warranty as well, especially if buying from another country.

Message 2 of 11
latest reply

This is one case where you WANT the seller to use the Global Shipping Program.