First time using Ebay - Bad experience - Help

kyatt_0
Community Member

Hi, 
This is my first time using Ebay and I feel like I got screwed over. I sold my first item internationally and the buyer did not receive the pacakge, submitted a claim and got a refund. Either the buyer has the pacakge or the package is lost, I was required to refund the buyer and I now also have to pay for the buyers shipping and transaction fees. 

As a seller I selected "buyer pays shipping", why would I be required to pay shipping and fees? I read an ebay page on international shipping and its states "You’re protected, If your item is claimed as lost or damaged during international transit, you won’t be at fault", how am I protected and not at fault? I am paying for everything and my item is lost....

I am upset how Ebay is advertising it to be safe/secure/easy it is but you can get screwed over so easily and its 100% in their control. I am currently waiting for a response from Ebay to see what they can do to help. 

Any suggestions would be great. 

Message 1 of 5
latest reply
4 REPLIES 4

Re: First time using Ebay - Bad experience - Help

Firstly, new seller mistake #1 -selling outside of Canada. With no  eBay selling experience, it is never in your best interests to sell outside of Canada until you have some sales and experience.

New Seller Mistake #2 - selling high value and/or electronics items ... New sellers are targeted by scammers, especially so with electronics, computers,etc which makes those categories one of the most risky selling categories on eBay.

BTW unless you are offering "Free Shipping" (In which you would build the cost of shipping into the price of the item), it is the BUYER that pays shipping as you would have set up your shipping rates within the listing.