3 Months since ebay suspended new listings/edits because I won't join the MP scam

and they still have not ended my existing listings even thought they started to threaten that back in April. I did however cancel my premium store subscription yesterday so Ebay is losing the $59.95/mth i've been paying them for about seven or eight years now. The sales on here just aren't consistent enough to justify the store account even if they hadn't instituted managed payments. Also I don't need Ebay at all. I posted a couple thousand in bicycling items on various facebook groups & marketplace on tuesday, half of it has already sold i less than 48 hours and every buyer opted for interac E-transfer payment instead of paypal (so no fees deducted at all on my end). The only problem I've run into is facebook's guidelines algorithm flags the word bomb out of "bomber", which is the name of a model of mountain bike suspension fork. There are a few other bicycling industry brands/model names that trip the algorithm up also (FB marketplace hasn't apparently learned about brand/trade/model names using the same words as say terrorists use).  So to the rest of you i offer the advice, whatever you're selling, consider searching facebook marketplace for the same things, there might very well be others already selling there and dedicated classified groups for the same products you're trying to sell on ebay.

Message 1 of 4
latest reply
3 REPLIES 3

Re: 3 Months since ebay suspended new listings/edits because I won't join the MP scam

Not sure why you think Managed Payments is a scam.

Very badly implemented, certainly.

But basically it returns eBay to the same position it was in before it was forced to sell off Paypal in 2015.

Perhaps as part of introducing MP, eBay has been offering many Free Listing promotions.

I downgraded one of my Stores from Premium to Basic, without losing any "free" listings, although I do have to check each month to see that I don't exceed my quota.