Buyer wants me to send the item to a different address than the one that appears on their account

rayhdehg-0
Community Member

I sold an item for 700$ and the buyer has already paid but wants me to send it to a totally different address (different province and a different name). Looks like they have been an ebay member for many years and they have 100+ nice feedback from previous purchases. Do I send it to the address that they want? I'm new to this so please help if you can. Any advice is appreciated.

Message 1 of 12
latest reply
11 REPLIES 11

Buyer wants me to send the item to a different address than the one that appears on their account

byto253
Community Member

Do not send it to an address that is different than the one you are provided by from Ebay.  You lose all your protection.  

This sounds like it is a drop shipper who has a sale at a higher amount then buys it on eBay.  Or it could be a scam.  It could also be someone that made an error and has their old address or work address, etc.  Or maybe a gift for someone.   Whatever it is, it is up to them to have the correct address for delivery registered with eBay for that sale.

I have a US address for deliveries as well and sometimes I forget to switch it from US to Canada or Canada to US to match the location of the person I am buying from, it is easy to do.

For options,  you can message them back that unfortunately you are required to ship to the eBay address registered at the time of sale and provided to you by Ebay.  Do you want me to ship it to the address provided?  If not, I can cancel at your request and relist it so that you may update your address and buy it with the delivery address that you would like.   Relist it at that price with immediate payment required.

Just do NOT deliver a $700 item to a different address.

Message 2 of 12
latest reply

When was the feedback left? If it was a year or more since the last ones -- any big gap really-- there is a good chance the account was hijacked.