Canada post omg

2015dybl
Community Member
Am I doing something wrong. I am new to selling on ebay and starting to think this is not a good idea in canada. I have a .54 gram tshirt in a small poly mailer and the post office said to ship from Toronto to Vancouver is $15.27 .. not worth it for anyone to buy a 3 dollar tshirt if they have to pay that much in shipping... I hope I'm doing something wrong.. help
Message 1 of 9
latest reply
8 REPLIES 8

Canada post omg

You can use Lettermail Oversize to ship small thin parcels under 2 cm thick and less than 500 gram for $5 or less.  Your item if placed in a larger flat envelope to make sure it is under 2 cm thick. It may bunch up and get thicker before you mail it. Someone will tell you how to keep it thin. I would fold it around a thin cardboard insert. Lettermail Oversize has 100, 200, 300, 400 and 500 grams breaks going from $1.80 to $5.05 + sales tax.

no tracking for Lettermail oversize but a good cheap service. Loss is rare but buyer could make a false loss claim.

Message 2 of 9
latest reply

Canada post omg

You have a choice to make.

If the item is under 2 cm thick (and will stay that way through the entire journey as part of the mail stream) you can mail it cheaply and untracked using domestic oversize lettermail for $1.80 to $5.30. Depending on weight. (Regular lettermail for a buck is just that: letters. Like up to four sheets of folded paper.)

Or you can send it via Expedited Parcel which is tracked with Delivery Confirmation. Those rates vary depending on origins and destination but you can get a discount if you purchase and print that label via Paypal Shipping. If the item is wider than 2 cm and over 500 grams, you have no choice but to use a parcel rate.