How is the VAT situation to EU lately?

Now that we're in 2022, just curious how everything is coming along for sellers selling to Europe? eBay is still collecting VAT at point of sales. Are your buyers still getting double charged on VAT upon arrival? Anyone with experience selling to France lately?

Thanks in advance 💛
Message 1 of 32
latest reply
31 REPLIES 31

Hello zee-chan, 

I know a few French friends and I can confirm you that they have to pay 20% more from the price of the item and once the customer gets the item, they sometimes have to pay customs fees which are around 9EUR ($12.90CAD) . France puts a 20% VAT fee on all items that are exported from outside the EU.

From the seller's side, I can't tell you more, I'm not experienced in this.

Message 2 of 32
latest reply

Hello!

I stopped selling to Europe for a while last summer after the VAT charge started. I had one package that took 5 months to get to Italy! Fortunately this was to a long time (about six years) buyer and she never opened a case or asked for her money back...she actually waited! She had talked to customs and knew it was sitting there but had to wait for it to be released. It took from July to December!  I have sent a few packages to her this month (someone with that much patience deserves special treatment!), one got there in two weeks, still waiting on other two. She is still charged the taxes when it gets there.

I also have sent to a long time buyer in Spain, packages have gotten to her quicker than Italy but still get charged the VAT. I don't know about France, back in the good old days France was one of the quickest places I found a package going by Small International Air would get to (less than a week) but like I say that was a couple of years back.