Is a Full Refund by PayPal Considered Complete Through EBay System?

Hi,

I’m new to selling and had a customer last Friday wishing to purchase 11 items from me. She did not follow my instructions when I was going to offer free shipping for all these items.

Instead she paid for all items separately and for some reason was charged for shipping each item separately. Then she wondered why her transaction was over $500. It will take 3-5 business days to get back into her bank account and is supposed to order again. This is my first time dealing with this.

I issued a full refund by PayPal minutes later. So here is my issue and I seem to get conflicting information when I searched online and due to my lack of experience dealing with this issue.

1. When I issue a full refund on PayPal, a case is opened and is the dispute considered complete once the buyer is given their full refund? Do I need to do anything else once I issued that full refund by PayPal?

2. I tried to cancel the order through EBay seller hub after the fact but it won’t let me because there is an open PayPal case. Should I have cancelled it this way first? Or is it one way or the other?

3. I have 11 items in my eBay app that says it’s waiting to ship and how do I get rid of these items in my sold section? It won’t let me cancel them there because of the open case with PayPal. Will these eventually disappear once it is considered complete with PayPal?

4. Are there any negative ramifications through the eBay system if it says items aren’t shipped even though refund is given through PayPal?

Buyer and I have a good rapport so there are no issues on that end. She simply made a mistake. This is my first experience with a refund.

Thank you
Message 1 of 7
latest reply
6 REPLIES 6

obviously, you should have either cancelled the order through ebay first, using problem with buyer's address, then you would have gotten all your fees back,