Latest scam on eBay.ca?

I've been selling on eBay for 20 years now and seen a lot of scams but this is a new one to me. 0 feedback buyer in Montreal purchased a $320 item so l made sure it shipped with full insurance (Xpresspost) so there would be no opportunity for claims. Well he got me! Made a claim to his credit card company claiming he did not recognize the transaction so they opened a dispute with eBay, who in turn did the usual hold of funds and requested tracking info from me. Of course they already had the tracking info and proof of delivery two weeks previous so I pressed the send info button and instantly received the case decided in buyers favour message. That got my blood boiling so I contacted eBay immediately and after a one hour song and dance routine said it was out of their hands but would submit a request to eBay seller protection on my behalf. And so as I wait for a response from them l have now added a 5 feedback requirement to all my listings, unfortunate because we all start with 0 feedbacks and aside from about half of them being non paying bidders the other half are totally fine. If eBay doesn't fix this loophole it's going to get very bad for sellers very quickly. I can absorb the losses from most late delivery claims where the internatonal buyer waits only a few days after the eBay-prescribed delivery date to make their claim, which eBay pays out regardless of Canada Post's suggested delivery based on the tracking info (Canada Post does not pay claims for late delivery any more). However, I refuse to submit to abuse due to the apparent lack of concern of eBay by not creating a firm policy to deal with clearly fraudulent claims. This was supposed to be my retirement pension supplement and I have a lot of inventory to list still but without support this plan will not be sustainable. 20 years, 100% positive feedback, many thousands of sales and dollars earned for eBay and this is what you get. So disappointing. 

Message 1 of 30
latest reply