Order value / duty concern when preparing 2 labels for 1 order Canada to USA.

Hope someone can help me.  Chatted with eBay, was told to go to the post office and have them prepare labels and then come back into eBay to put in the 2 tracking #s.  Makes no sense to me !!!

I have to mail a rather expensive chandelier to the USA.  Heavy so I had to pack in 2 boxes.  I usually prepare my labels in eBay, but this is my first time for a 2 package order.  On-line eBay Help explained to prepare 1st label, then select print another label and prepare the 2nd and that I would get 2 tracking #s.  My concern is will it also put the full value of the chandelier on both labels?  If so, the buyer will have to pay duties cause the amount would then be over $800US.   Is there mention/note that the order is a 2 parcel order and magically the second label won't have an amount?  Or, can I change the amount on both labels making sure they total the actual price (under $800US).  I don't want to start preparing the labels and then find out I have a problem and have to cancel them since shipping is also big bucks....  Thanks in advance!

Message 1 of 6
latest reply
5 REPLIES 5

Re: Order value / duty concern when preparing 2 labels for 1 order Canada to USA.

If you are sending via Canada Post you need to treat them as individual shipments and split the declared value between them.

Technically they should be declared as $1000 total with documentation showing it's split but you can save yourself a lot of aggravation simply be treating them as separate orders declared at $500 each.

I have no idea how this would work using label printed via eBay.

You could probably save yourself quite a bit of money shipping them via ChitChats who have two locations in the Ottawa area.

https://chitchats.com/locations

"What else could I do? I had no trade so I became a peddler" - Lazarus Greenberg 1915
- answering Trolls is voluntary, my policy is not to participate.
Message 2 of 6
latest reply