Shipping cost for padded envelope - eBay shipping calculator consider it as a package

Hi,

I am new with eBay. Trying to sell a CD that will be shipped with padded envelope.

I put the CD in a 18.4cm x 18.4cm x 1 cm padded envelope for total weight of 101g and went to Canada Post to have shipping estimates from Montreal to Toronto. As per Canada Post, cheapest is 3.60$. I also double checked on Canada Post site, and it is also 3.60$.

When I use eBay shipping Calculator, I see that a padded envelope over 9 cm x 9 cm is calculated a  parcel, putting the shipping cost at 12.80$.  As per Canada Post, I can have up to Max Length 38cm x Max Width 27 cm x Max Thickness 2 cm and still be in envelope rate instead of parcel (https://www.canadapost.ca/cpotools/apps/far/business/farLetter?execution=e1s5).

Anyone know how it can be fixed to have a the real shipping cost ?

Thanks

Christian

Message 1 of 18
latest reply
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Shipping cost for padded envelope - eBay shipping calculator consider it as a package

The eBay calculator is for parcels or packet (services that you can buy shipping labels online).

It is not used for lettermail. Use flat rate for stuff sent as oversize lettermail.

2019 stamp rates  (taxes excluded):

Canada

to  30g - 0.90

to 50g - 1.27

to 100g - 1.90

to 200g - 3.12

to 300g - 4.34

to 400g - 4.98

to 500g - 5.35

USA

to 30g - 1.27

to 50g - 1.90

to 100g - 3.12

to 200g - 5.45

Small Packet is a better choice over 200g than oversize lettermail.

International

to 30g - 2.65

to 50g - 3.80

to 100g - 6.25

Small Packet is a better choice over 100g than oversize lettermail.

If you look carefully you can find mint with gum postage stamps on eBay for 10 to 30% discount off stamp face value on eBay for even bigger savings.

-..-

View solution in original post

Message 4 of 18
latest reply
17 REPLIES 17