fedex shipping for canadian sellers

so im totally new to selling on ebay. what i would like to know if it is easy shipping with fedex, and is it cost effective. for all orders domestic and international. do canadian sellers get the same shipping discounts as us sellers using fedex?

Message 1 of 22
latest reply
21 REPLIES 21

Re: fedex shipping for canadian sellers

tobyshitzu
Community Member

There is a significant discount (off retail) for all but the base ground service.  Unfortunately the retail rates are so high for anything but the not included ground service it isnt worth using

Message 2 of 22
latest reply

is there any benefit on using it for fedex express pickup. my bussiness is such that it is really part time and i would not be able to ship anything during the day,i work during the day. i could only ship after 5pm.

Message 3 of 22
latest reply

No benefit.  Best to stick with CP and the smaller and lighter the item the better.

Message 4 of 22
latest reply

I used USPS once or twice in 12 years. It was a nightmare. Part time, minimum wage, untrained, clerks. CP, they know what they are doing.

Photobucket
Message 5 of 22
latest reply

Take a walk tomorrow at lunchtime. Watch for a post box with parcel pickup. You want one with 5pm or so pickup.

You may need to head out in various directions, but if you work in a downtown, a mall, or an industrial park you should be able to find one.

There may even be one within a block of your house or between your home and the bus stop.

I have posted most of my parcels at mailboxes and have never found any noticeable difference between delivery time from the box and from the PO.

You could also ask the guys in the mail room if you could leave your (stamped and ready to go) parcels with them for pickup with the company mail. If they say yes, remember to give them a small gift at Christmas.

If you print your shipping labels through Paypal, you get a discount of between 5% and 17% on most parcel services.