Import fees?

sokioku
Community Member

I had recently bought a steelbook for the 2012 movie and to my surprise when paying there was a $12 import fee. Not only was it not in the description of the item listing but the seller was unaware of any import fees. The seller had checked their invoice and it wasn't there, however when I was paying it was.

Is this some sort of new eBay policy when buying from the USA? I'm very unhappy with eBay for this. This discourages me from buying from the USA since I'm unable to tell what auctions have import fees and which ones do not.

Message 1 of 59
latest reply
58 REPLIES 58

Re: bid on a set of action figures that cost $207 CAD NAFTA i...

Agree with sajibraj, I have been shopping on ebay for over 10 years and only items of approx $50 or more get charged customs/duties anything below that should never be charged an additional fee. Ebay is just gouging non US buyers by doing this. I'm in the same boat as some of the comments on here I will be closing my account if ebay does not rethink this BS.
Message 41 of 59
latest reply

Does not matter who it goes to it is a complete rip off to Non US buyers plain and simple.
Message 42 of 59
latest reply

I have been buying from the US and the UK for years, both through ebay and other web stores. I have NEVER EVER had to pay import fees into Canada unless something was shipped FedEx, and frankly I think those extra fees went straight into FedEx's pocket, so I never use FedEx anymore.  The Global Shipping system is a joke.  Service is no better, the costs are just higher and I refuse to buy from sellers who use that system.

Message 43 of 59
latest reply

I just got charged import fees on an item that has no duty or customs on it so as soon as I get it I will be closing my account. I would tell all Canadians to do the same.
Message 44 of 59
latest reply

I agree this is crazy,  Will not in future buy when these shipping cost are applied.  Priority also should mean fast but it does not.