Buyer diden't tell me of fee from DHL

kicr8854
Community Member

So I ordered an item  from the US that cost 150CAD,  I am new to Ebay and this is probably my first time ordering from the US from Canada, The seller used DHL and the shipping was 10$ next thing I know I get a email from DHL saying I need to pay 36$CAD to receive my item. My question, is this a normal thing that Canada buyers have to pay when ordering from the US and is this something that the seller is supposed to pay.

Message 1 of 5
latest reply
4 REPLIES 4

Most likely was a brokerage fee, quite common from any courier US to Canada. Some/many U.S sellers are not aware and my guess is some/man don't really care. Always best to buy from sellers using USPS. In some/most cases, avoid the U.S. sellers using the GSP  (even though some/many of them were opted into that program "without their knowledge")  

Message 2 of 5
latest reply

marnotom!
Community Member

@kicr8854 wrote:

So I ordered an item  from the US that cost 150CAD,  I am new to Ebay and this is probably my first time ordering from the US from Canada, The seller used DHL and the shipping was 10$ next thing I know I get a email from DHL saying I need to pay 36$CAD to receive my item. My question, is this a normal thing that Canada buyers have to pay when ordering from the US and is this something that the seller is supposed to pay.

Perfectly normal.  "Casual imports" such as yours are subject to HST/GST/PST (depending on your province) and duty (if applicable) based on the declared value of the item.  The carrier would also levy a fee or fees for processing the item through customs and collecting or advancing the taxes and duty owing.