At What Point Is a Potential Buyer Wasting Your Time?

I’m new at selling on eBay Canada and have am starting to get good feedback as a seller. Today someone with zero feedback messaged me asking about shipping rates for multiple items. They also asked about a discount for multiple items. I don’t have a problem giving a discount for 6 items as well as shipping but they kept saying they were new to eBay. They gave me their address and I gave them a quote. I know some sellers consider zero feedback a red flag but I always try to give the benefit of the doubt because we all start out somewhere.

A few minutes later someone with a lot of feedback with a Postal code from the same small town city sent me as message saying “It’s xxxx dollars to send this to xxxx?? as if they were dumbfounded by the price. I use calculated shipping btw so I don’t make up inflated prices.

Back to the original message from zero feedback buyer...I told them I had set it for them to order and could do a flat rate shipping discount. I took the time to edit this option on my listing and didn’t hear anything back.

Hours later still nothing and when I went back to change the shipping options, I get a message immediately saying they want to order and how do they do it? If they know how to send a message on eBay they would know how to buy something here.

At this point I’m getting annoyed and know it’s a time waster. I can’t help but think it could be an experienced buyer/seller just jerking me around for their own amusement. I’ve had great buyers so far without any hassle. They just order.

When I try to block this person it says “invalid user Id” which apparently is an eBay glitch. I’ve told them I took the time to set this up and if I don’t hear back I’m changing my shipping option back to calculated shipping. I’ve already done it. Can they leave me negative feedback if they haven’t bought anything? I’m trying to be professional and answer questions but all the red flags are there.