Does anyone else think the DSR system is a total and utter farce??

This system is totally dysfunctional.   Buyer leaves glowing feedback on one hand and torpedoes you with a bunch of 1's on a multiple purchase and there is nothing you can do about it.  eBay doesn't care.  In fact I think eBay is probably really happy when it happens because they make more money by not having to give you a discount on your final value fees.  I called customer support and wasted 10 minutes of my life.  Their solution was communicate more with the customer and ask them to leave positive comments and DSR ratings if they are happy.  They said it is okay for a customer to leave glowing feedback and yet leave a bunch of low rating numbers.  REALLY??   I have been doing this for over ten years and I am seriously considering calling it a day.  I have had maybe a handful of negatives over the past ten years but in reality these people were never going to be happy no matter what you did.  I can deal with that.  What I can't deal with anymore is the fact eBay doesn't seem to give a hoot about the sellers who in my view are the people making eBay rich.  Don't get me wrong I don't have a problem with eBay making money.  Everyone likes to make money.   What really irks me is in my view just about every eBay policy favours the buyer at the expense of the seller.  Maybe I am wrong.  Would really like to hear your opinion/horror stories relating to DSR.     

Message 1 of 83
latest reply
82 REPLIES 82

I do not like the DSR either.  The word " very" is to trendy sounding.  Why is it there?  It's like asking are you "male" or "very male"

Message 2 of 83
latest reply

The system is weighted against the seller.

Most buyers don't understand the impact on the seller if they give you low marks. 

I have had customers who either gave you a five - or gave you a one - nothing in between. 

It is a joke.

Who gains by it?  Ebay!

Message 3 of 83
latest reply

nan*55
Community Member

sucks!!!!