Fix the way we manage "Suggested Item Specifics" *now* please!

I am *so* sick of being nagged by these. Either give us a way to mass-edit listings to toggle "do not remind me about these reccommended specifics again" for multiple listings at a time, OR make these *required* and be done with it. 

I have been running an ecommerce business for 10 years, and *nothing* is more of a *constant* nag/makework project that these.

Even worse, using the current method of having to select all, and edit one-by-one often leads to *frequent* errors, which is

*just*

*Enraging*.

Ebay, FIX this. If you want sellers filling in this fields *so* badly, make them mandatory, rather than inconveniencing all of us to entice the minority who will do so to fill them all in. 

Message 1 of 14
latest reply
13 REPLIES 13

Re: Fix the way we manage "Suggested Item Specifics" *now* please!

Anonymous
Not applicable

Why DO WE HAVE TO add item specifices??  It is absured and waste of time.  Buyers DON'T check the item specifices!!  All they are is the title of what items are, etc not detailed item specifices!!  eBay needs to STOP being insane!

Message 2 of 14
latest reply

@cardconnoisseurs 

The 'Suggested" Item Specifics are optional. You can ignore them.

Not so the Required  ones, although in my categories I can often use "N/A".

@Anonymous 

Item Specifics are supposed to get picked up by SEOs (Google, basically) and they are repetitive to catch as many different keywords as possible.

Not using them pushes your listings lower in Search even on eBay and leaves you unseen on the wider internet.

They are not meant to be used by eBay Searches.

My favourite is in Books , where most sellers put the author's name and the book title into Title on the selling form. But IS requires both Author and Title again, along with 'series' which seems silly as a Requirement since most books are one-offs.  Again N/A can be inserted.

Message 3 of 14
latest reply

marnotom!
Community Member