Increase in INR Cases with Lettermail anyone else?

Hi all,

I've been selling trading cards for around two years and have always used Canada Post Lettermail when shipping low-valued cards and packs domestically. Over the past few months, there has been around around a 500% increase in INR cases opened from items that were shipped with Lettermail. I'm really only losing a 2$-6$ per case, but it does add up fast. Is it Canada Post that's losing all these parcels, or scamming buyers claiming that they didn't receive the item so they can get it for free?

I've thought about going to Canada Post Expedited Lite, but I would have to charge around 10$ for shipping (to cover the cost of the label, supplies, then eBay fees) which most people won't pay for a card or pack that costs half, if not less than, half that. 

Has anyone else noticed this increase in INR cases? What do you all think about using only the Canada Post Expedited Lite from now on?

Thanks for your time!

Message 1 of 13
latest reply
12 REPLIES 12

Re: Increase in INR Cases with Lettermail anyone else?

How many sales do you have per month on average?

What was your previous average for INRs?

A 500 percent increase sounds large on paper, but you might be dealing with such a small sample size that I wouldn't consider it reliable until it is sustained for a longer period of time. 

For example, if you previously had 1 INRs for every 250 orders and this quarter it is up to 5 INRs every 250 orders, it's such a small sample size that some bad luck could skew it.

Looking at your listings, the biggest problem you have is that you are using the Canada Post Lettermail shipping option when setting up your shipping policies. Most people who use Canada Post Lettermail to ship will choose the generic Economy shipping option. The reason for this is because eBay quotes Canada Post Lettermail at something like 7 business days.