Managed Payments - Won't accept U.S. bank account

I'm a Canadian resident with a U.S.-based bank account as I frequently work and travel to the United States.  I have no U.S. residential address.  I just tried to sign up for eBay Managed Payments and it will not let me add a U.S. bank account with a Canadian address.

Other payment providers (such as one that currently provides services to eBay sellers/buyers) have absolutely no issue with this, so long as the identity verification process is successfully completed.  Not sure why eBay Managed Payments can't do this.

Way to go, eBay!  You really screwed up on this one.

Message 1 of 14
latest reply
13 REPLIES 13

They will accept a $US bank account but it has to be at a Canadian bank.

Message 2 of 14
latest reply

Yes, thanks.  But it makes no sense whatsoever that they won't accept a U.S. bank.

Message 3 of 14
latest reply

marnotom!
Community Member

Managed Payments is a work in progress and a pretty new work at that.  I suspect that Adyen is proceeding very cautiously when adding new features and capabilities for Managed Payments.  Perhaps the US-bank-account-for-foreigners option will be available in the future when it figures out more about the business relationship between Canada and the United States.

PayPal made several missteps along the way as it tried to figure itself out.  (Remember that brief period when one could have their payments applied to their credit card account before the credit card companies told PayPal to cease and desist?)  This may have been acceptable for an internet startup in the late 1990s, but it's probably not so acceptable for a European-based eCommerce company that's already regarded as a bit stodgy by some.

Message 4 of 14
latest reply

parts-commerce
Community Member