help on shipping aluminum lightning truss

i have sold two five (5) ft long  box (10 inch x10 inchs) style aluminum lightning trusses  these are used and will be shipped to  a vancouver theatre company  from toronto-- i need to find a shipper  who is reasonable priced - they weight is about 60 lbs for both units  what if anyone knows is shipping cost  est. wise  -- the items are 90 percent sold  but they want me to cover the shipping costs - new these are over 1000 dollars us  for the pair i selling them for 500/600 dollars canadian -- any advice will be appreciated - which shippers should use ????i have no experience shipping items this big--

Message 1 of 12
latest reply
11 REPLIES 11

@dobo5250 

You could try comparing Purolator, DHL or ICS Courier. All will ship across Canada with ground rates. Confirm on any oversized charge with their online rate calculator or call them directly prior to booking a pick up. Links below. With most couriers you can do a one of without setting up an account. 

https://www.dhl.com/ca-en/home.html?locale=true

https://www.icscourier.ca/support/faqs.aspx

https://www.purolator.com/en

https://www.purolator.com/en/shipping/purolator-specialized-services

-Lotz

Message 2 of 12
latest reply

Hello

You may want to try Chit Chats.  I do not know what the size limitation for their shipping criteria, but they have introduced some new lower  rates for point to point shipping between their stores (Customer has to PU item at their store).

Good Luck

Message 3 of 12
latest reply

byto253
Community Member

Are the dimensions the packed boxes or before packing?  You may want to ship it in 2 packages.  One big one that size may be more expensive.

Message 4 of 12
latest reply

Free Shipping- which is what your customer wants- is never free.

The cost of shipping has to be included in the asking price and you should have worked out that cost BEFORE Offering the trusses.

Hindsight, of course, is 20/20.