Chain of lost lettermail packages, (never?) to be found!

Hello! First time posting here, long time lurker.

Used to send small items into the US through Canada Post Oversize Lettermail-- but no more! I had been doing this for many years to keep shipping costs low, but was recently made VERY aware that this is prohibited. Merchandise is not to be sent through lettermail to the states. I had a dozen or so orders to the states that I shipped out roughly in the same week,  over a month ago. Every single buyer has opened a case or asked for refund, which I obliged!

Out of those 12 or so orders, one has been returned to me by Canada Post with a label explaining the situation. But the other 11? Nowhere to be found... ouch ouch ouch. I've since changed my shipping options to the US. No more lettermail! I put adequate postage and have a clearly written return shipping address...

Has anyone had something similar happen? Any idea if/when I or my buyers will ever see these packages ever again?

J

Message 1 of 21
latest reply
20 REPLIES 20

Re: Chain of lost lettermail packages, (never?) to be found!

It may be a run of bad luck /bad buyers.

I am assuming that your "lettermail" items otherwise met the 500gr/2cm parameters?

Return to sender mail can be slow because it is never a priority for the carrier.

So some, maybe all, of those shipments may come back to you.

And some.... gamers gonna game.... may be gone forever.

You might also try changing  the place you ship from.

I put most lettermail into the street mailbox, on the basis that it's not tracked anyway, and only take Tracked items (including Small Packet USA which is not tracked but has a label and barcode) in to the PO to get a receipt.

Message 2 of 21
latest reply

Always adhering to the thickness and weight maximums!