Fake black Ultrafire Lithium Polymer 6000mAh batteries.

I bought 10 pcs of an allegedly 6000mAh LiPo battery from the seller.
They are black and appear to be of the brand "Ultrafire".

And they are fake.

On receiving the batteries, I topped them up and one immediately reported error in the charger.

This spurred me to measuring their factual capacity, which was very low.

The one that reported error only had 14mAh and the rest were between 400 and 520mAh.

I looked around and saw that several people had discovered their newly purchased batteries were fake - some were filled with flour and contained a very very minimal cell. So I decided to take my 14mAh battery apart to see what was inside.

(Careful if doing this, easy to make LiPo batteries explode or you will burn your fingers.
I am an engineer. I am licensed to do this at home)

I peeled the black plastic cover off the outside of the battery and found to my surprise that the battery had received a "used car painting". Inside, it was BLUE and clearly marked 3.2V, 1.5Ah. That's one quarter of what the outside plastic cover promises.

And the battery itself ... one third of that, one 10th of the promised capacity in the listing.

Naturally I sent the seller a message complaining about it and he said he would refund me $1.80.
I replied back to him, that no-no, I actually bought 10 and they are all like that (this was before I started picking one apart).
That would be US$ 18, thank you.
He came back and offered me $6 and claimed I would then save the shipping.

Or NOT.

I have escalated this to a PayPal case. I don't have several days to haggle over fraudulent batteries worth $18.

But consider yourself warned ... that scam is getting WAY too popular.

Kent

Message 1 of 10
latest reply
9 REPLIES 9

In fact, it turned out to be a bad, blue 1.5Ah battery wrapped in a black wrapper.

http://youtu.be/KYS3nvygQD8

Message 2 of 10
latest reply

If you checked them as soon as you got them like you said