Buyer Violates eBay Policy, eBay sides with Buyer

scyc.1
Community Member

Hello everyone,

I am new to eBay as a seller but am an established eCommerce seller on other platforms.

I wanted to ask if situations such as the one I described is a norm as a seller on eBay? As this is not normal on the other platforms that I also sell on.

The buyer requested a refund for a product that is labeled as No Returns.

Reason they used was "Does not seem authentic".

In the message conversation they wanted to return the item as the shipping would not arrive by a certain date and they already bought the same product off Amazon. The expected arrival date is a week before the date they wanted.

The buyer mentions several times to refund the product and they would give a positive feedback for it.

Nowhere in the conversation is it mentioned or questioned about the genuine status or authenticity of the product.

We offer the buyer a full refund as an exception if the product does not arrive in time. The product arrives as per the expected arrival date.

The buyer opens a case with eBay. eBay rules in their favor. Contacted eBay, they declined the appeal and maintains their judgement. So unfortunately we are now essentially writing off both the shipping expenses and potentially the product itself.

It's a bit disheartening for this to happen on our first transaction on eBay and to see that eBay would rule in the buyer's favor even though they clearly violated policies and abused the system.  So wanted to ask you, is this a fairly common occurrence in your professional experience and what are your mitigation strategies on eBay for this?

Thank you.

Message 1 of 3
latest reply
2 REPLIES 2

There are a couple of things you need to know.

- No Returns does not mean No Refunds. If it is a Not as Described then it's gonna be refunded one way or the other. Make sure you are in control - not the buyer or eBay.