Why does ebay hate Canadians?

As the subject line says, why does eBay hate Canadians? Why do we get gouged on shipping, screwed on the new BS "import duties," then given a final reaming on delivery? An item an American pays $60 for will cost a Canadian over $100. I know because I just paid that bill! And that's not even including extortion fees from the crime syndicate known as UPS. Or conversion fees from the banks. Or PayPal fees. 

And please don't say "if you don't like getting screwed, then just don't buy on eBay." That's a cop-out.

I've been buying on eBay for ten years, and I am done. When you add up all the backrage fees that eBay charges, plus insane shipping, plus duty, and whatever else they slap on in the future (fuel surcharge? administration fee? eBay logo colourization fee?), it just isn't worth it. When you slap a 40% increase on every purchase, it's just not economical. I'll take an ad out in the paper **bleep**. 

Message 1 of 29
latest reply
28 REPLIES 28

"Why do we get gouged on shipping"

What does that have to do with your title?  eBay does not control shipping charged by sellers.

"screwed on the new BS "import duties,"

What does that have to do with your title?  eBay does not control taxes and duty (if applicable) remitted to the Canadian government.

"$60 for will cost a Canadian over $100"

What does that have to do with your title? It is the buyer decision to purchase an item from outside the country, pay additional shipping and taxes and brokerage fee.  This can easily be avoided by buying locally.

"extortion fees from the crime syndicate known as UPS"

What does that have to do with your title?  The fees charged by UPS and other courier services have nothing to do with eBay.

"and I am done"

Good Luck

Message 2 of 29
latest reply

silver-athletica
Community Member