Buyer asked for a different shipping address after item was shipped.

Hi!

I've been using ebay since 2001 mostly as a buyer and sometimes I sell stuff too. I have 100% feedback and take great pride in providing excellent service when I ship my items to my buyers.

I sold a few items recently and had the first issue with a buyer since I started selling items.

I am located in Canada and had a buyer from NJ, USA buy an used handheld Nintendo console from me a few days ago. I waited for the buyer to send the payment and I shipped the item the following morning using EMS shipping to the USA with full tracking and signature.

However, once the item was shipped, the buyer contacted me thru ebay messaging system and asked that I send her the item to an alternate address. Apparently, she has moved recently and forgot to update her infos on file in eBay/Paypal profiles.

I told her that I could not do anything for her because it is mandatory for me to ship to the specified address that ebay/Paypal provides as the verified address and the item was already on it's way and too late to cancel the shipment.

This morning, as expected, the USPS attempted delivery at her ebay/Paypal verified address and the item was reported as "undeliverable" and returned to me. I informed her about this situation and she will try to intercept the package at her local post office before it is returned.

If the item is returned (valued at 105$ CAD + 20$ shipping), what are my best options? Should I refund her fully minus the return shipping fees? Cancel the transaction? Offer a second chance offer to the runner-up in the auction?

Thanks for helping, my only goal is to provide full satisfaction, keep my perfect 100% feedback and that everybody is satisfied. Your suggestions are welcome !

Cheers,

Message 1 of 14
latest reply
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Does the buyer accept responsibility for her error?

Attitude plays a bid part in this.

When the shipment is returned let her know.