Item Not received - Did I make a mistake somewhere

Hello,

I am new to the selling side of things on ebay, having decided this was the year to get started on that. I mostly want to stick to video games for now and move on to other things as I learn the process. I started with 10 items on auction, 9 sold, 1 did not recieve payment, but the other 8 were, seemingly, sent out and recieved fine, though I only recieved feedback from 2 of them, until today when I was informed that one item has not been recieved after two weeks. It is, of course, the most expensive item I sold.

I used Canada Post lettermail on all items, applied appropriate, perhaps even excessive postage, copy and pasted all buyer addresses, secured them to the envelopes, took pictures of said envelopes, and ensured they were sent off as soon as possible. Once I got home from the post office, I immediately went to select that the item had been shipped. Come my surprise when I recieved a message from a buyer that they have not recieved the item after two weeks. For distance, I am in Alberta and he is in Quebec.

I responded by detailing the process, showing there was no tracking number, and showing the picture of the envelope. I asked if they could perhaps wait one more week, but also said that if they requested a refund they would be reimbursed. Finally, I asked for them to send word if they recieved the item. The item in question is not a large value item, but they paid standard price for a video game these days, so I can understand the desire to get what you paid for as quickly as possible and the frustration of an item not arriving on time.

I understand that this can happen especially with lettermail, but from what I read on similar posts it just sounds like I got rather unlucky on my first go. The buyer is in good standing so I am not suspecting fraud. Any advice on best practices for the future? It would be appreciated. 

Thank you. 

Message 1 of 14
latest reply
13 REPLIES 13