Return Shipping from another country?

I recently had someone request a return for "item not as described". I don't agree with them, but I've accepted the return because I don't want to hurt my eBay stats.

I am still fairly new to selling on eBay, and have not had to do a single return so far, so I am not familiar with how they work. I initially contacted eBay support because I wasn't given an option for return shipping, only to upload a label, and there was also an FAQ section that said the buyer was responsible for return shipping.

The support agent I spoke to confirmed this (incorrectly..) and told me my part was done, I just had to wait for the buyer to send the item back.

A few days later, a "deadline" by which I apparently was supposed to provide shipping, passed, and the buyer reached out. I told them what eBay told me, and they asked eBay to step in. 

I chatted support again, and they told me I needed to provide a label, and the case was on hold to gove me more time. 

I went to try and by a label, but there was no option to do so, and the return itself says closed.

So... I chatted support AGAIN. 

Now they tell me I need to buy a label outside of eBay and send it to the customer. 

I've looked into how to do this and can't figure it out. I'm in Canada, the buyer is in the US. I used canada post to ship the item, but it won't let me input a US address as the sender. eBay support is closed due to the holidays so I can't contact them. 

All the back and forth with eBay support has been so frustrating, and I also received sass from the buyer, and I just want it to be over but don't know what to do.

Help?

Message 1 of 7
latest reply
6 REPLIES 6

Re: Return Shipping from another country?

byto253
Community Member