$26USD item via GSP with no import charges?

I've never used GSP before for buying so i am a novice.  There is an item that costs $26 USD plus about $25 shipping via GSP but $0 import charges.  Is this a trick of some kind?  After i pay am i going to get nailed with some $10 charge  or something after the fact that i have to pay ? ie get billed separately for it.

Message 1 of 9
latest reply
8 REPLIES 8

It's possible you will see some "import charges" when you get to checkout and confirm the shipping address, you would still be able to back out at that point (I think). The free limit was increased to CA$40 a couple of years ago so US$25 would be below that so maybe there are no "import charges".

The would not be any "after the fact" charges, no supplemental chages from eBay and no supplemental charges from Canada Customs, what you see in checkout is what you pay.

"What else could I do? I had no trade so I became a peddler" - Lazarus Greenberg 1915
- answering Trolls is voluntary, my policy is not to participate.
Message 2 of 9
latest reply

ah, ok thanks.  I did a mock checkout and there were no additional charges.  Just item plus shipping, so i guess that 's what it is.  I didn't realize the minimum was $40 CAD now, i thought it was still $20.

Do items shipped with GSP come via Canada Post or do i have to deal with a courier?

Message 3 of 9
latest reply

If your seller is in the USA, you can import goods worth up to $150Cdn duty-free and up to $40 tax-free.

The GSP  does have a ~$5USD service charge, which is part of the "import fees" you will see before you confirm the purchase and pay.

If the seller is in the UK, those allowances both drop to $20Cdn.

The $25 shipping may already include those import fees.

Only the USA and UK have a Global Shipping Program, which is a Seller Protection program, aimed at encouraging paranoid and xenophobic Yankees and Brits to sell outside their own borders.