misrepresentation of item location

misrepresentation of item location  is becoming more of a problem as sellers lie about the item location to get sales & higher selling prices.

I realize that ebay is allowing drop shipping operations now but were not back in around 2002 - 2006 when I was a seller but the buyer has a right to know the item is being shipped from the location & by the method the seller has described it in the listing.

As a buyer I buy mostly international Hong Kong, China, Singapore, Taiwan  mainly buying electronic & computer parts as I am a semi retired repair tech

The item location is important because it drastically effects the item price & shipping time.

If I buy an item from Hong Kong I can expect to pay about 1/3 more than buying the same item from China

however shipping time from HK by HK Post/Canada Post To Ontario is about 1.5 weeks to 2 weeks including weekends on average compared to 3 to 5 weeks from areas in China & Singapore.

So what I am finding now are more sellers are claiming their items are in HK & will be shipped HK post just to get a sale & higher price but once the item ships you find out the item was shipped out of China or Singapore & thus takes almost twice as long to arrive.

to me this is important because it effects the time lines I give to my customers for repairs.

eBay needs to take this kind of trickery seriously & make it mandatory that the shipping location be accurate as well as have the option for the buyer to decline the purchase if the seller cant ship from the location or by the shipping method stated in the listing.

sellers who fail to comply should have their accounts suspended if they continue  to offend