Not possible to out bid US bidders as shipping to Canada do high, why try to buy on Ebay?

blossom_42
Community Member

It is very dificult to out bid a US bidders as I have to add approx. $20.00 C  for shipping, therefore, in the future I will probably only buy

using the buy now option.  Some sellers add on less and some more.   With this scenario I will have to weigh my options and possibly use the BUY NOW  key.   Or stop trying to buy on Ebay altogether!     I am new to Ebay and would appreciate others thoughts.  

Message 1 of 12
latest reply
3 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Accepted Solutions

Not possible to out bid US bidders as shipping to Canada do high, why try to buy on Ebay?

@candukid wrote:

So tell me this. If I were an American and bought the item, the shipping is usually "free" or very cheap. So why isn't the trip to Kentucky considered "free", and the shipping from Kentucky to Canada the big charge? If it is free inside the US then it should be free to Kentucky. How much does it cost the seller to ship it to the PB warehouse? What we are quoted? Is HE/SHE getting paid the quoted SHIPPING cost that we are paying? I think NOT. I think that PB tells the seller to ship it to the warehouse and pays for that only. Not what the seller could charge on the open market. I think that PB gets a big chunk of this money, and they are using the cheapest worst possible method to get it to our houses up here.

If the seller offers "free" shipping within the United States and its the first domestic shipping option offered, then, yes, shipping a GSP item to Kentucky would incur no extra charges other than what it costs to ship the item from Kentucky to its Canadian destination.