Who makes up the money for the currency exchange difference between USD and Canada?

When something sells in USD for $100.00 and I receive $128.00 where does that $28.00 come from? Would not the money to make up the difference come from the Canadian Government? That would be a reason to change how eBay.ca does things. And would not that tell us that things are not going to get better?

Message 1 of 6
latest reply
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Who makes up the money for the currency exchange difference between USD and Canada?

Please allow me to demonstrate how foreign exchange conversion works.  Let's pretend I am a foreign exchange out fit.  That is all I do for a living.  To keep it simple, let us suppose I only deal in US$ and Cdn$.

On my desk, I have two piles of money.  At left is a pile of US$ while at right you find Cdn$

The current wholesale (intra-bank) conversion rate is US$1.00 = Cdn$ 1.30

Since I want to make some money for my currency conversion business, I will give Cdn$ 1.26 for every US$1.00 received and will charge Cdn$ 1.34 for every US$1.00 customers want to buy.

At the end of the day, I had many customers selling me a total of US$100,000 and asking for Cdn$; I also had many customers with a total of Cdn$ 130,000 wanting to buy US$

How did I do?

I ended the day with a profit of $4,000 on the US$ folks wanted to exchange for Cdn$ and another $4,000 profit from the folks who wanted to exchange their Cdn$ for US$.

$8,000 profit in one day and... best of all... the two piles I started with earlier in the day have the same amount of money plus $4,000 each!

All the conversion profit came to me, the currency exchanger, for the service I provided.  Nothing to do with eBay, or the government.  All to me. Smiley Happy

View solution in original post

Message 5 of 6
latest reply
5 REPLIES 5

xeposter
Community Member

Is the $28 what you changed for shipping? That would explain why you received $128...

Alex

This is my POSTING id.