Buyer sent me a message saying he will not be paying

Hello everyone!

I'm still fairly new to selling, so I was hoping someone with more experience could help!  I just received a message from a buyer saying he will not be paying for an item.  This was a best offer listing.  If I were to cancel the transaction, would that count against me?  Or should I simply wait and open a non payment case?  There was no issue with the listing, he simply changed his mind.

Message 1 of 10
latest reply
9 REPLIES 9

Re: Buyer sent me a message saying he will not be paying

If you choose to cancel, please be sure the buyer will accept the cancellation. EBay will ask you the reason for the cancellation and if you say it was at the buyer's request, I don't think you will have a defect.* If buyer accept, you will have your FVF credited. Both you and buyer can leave feedback.

If you go the Unpaid Item route, you will have to wait 4 days before opening the case and then another 4 days before closing it. You will have your FVF back IF the buyer does not pay. He will have a strike on his account, but won't be able to leave feedback. If he does pay, be sure to use Delivery Confirmation or at least insurance, just in case he claims an Item Not Received.

* Please correct me if I'm wrong

Message 2 of 10
latest reply

Hello!

Thanks for answering!  I have no problem with cancelling it for him, but not if it counts as a defect for me.  I'd like to help him out, sure but being new I can't take a chance at it ending up counting as a defect. 

Message 3 of 10
latest reply

Another question about this issue, If I were to talk to the buyer, and we could work out a new price, could I simply do that with an invoice? If so, would my FVF reflect the new price or the initial price?  Does anyone know?

Message 4 of 10
latest reply

You can not bill the item's amount lower than the price it was sold for.