Newbie with a couple of questions

Hi all.

I want to try selling on Ebay and I have a couple of questions :

- Can Canadians sell on Ebay.com?

- If I post on Ebay.ca, does my posting show on Ebay.com, and is it listed in the same order (under a particular category regardless of what site (.ca or .com) it was listed on?

- If I choose to accept returns, can I set my own return time? It seems Ebay automatically sets the return time at 14 days (returns accepted within 14 days).

- In the case of buying, who pays for the shipping back if for example the item was defective or not as described? Do I discuss this with the seller before hand or are they obliged to pay for shipping the item back to them?

Thanks in advance.

Message 1 of 11
latest reply
10 REPLIES 10

Re: Newbie with a couple of questions

Ebay.com is certainly open to Canadian sellers, however, there are pros and cons to listing on the USA site. I am not an expert on the subject as I am listing exclusively with ebay.ca at present. Others here will have greater wisdom to share.

Off the top of my head, this is what I can tell you about ebay.com for Canadian sellers:

(a) you'll have to list in USD

(b) you'll have to use flat-rate postage charges and generic terms like Standard shipping etc 

(c) you'll have to stress the items are located (presumably) in Canada so your American buyers aren't irritated by shipping speed as there will be delays in crossing the border that they are not accustomed to waiting for as well as higher postage charges for lesser service

(d) you'll pay higher fees to paypal for currency conversion but the disparity between USD and CAD will no doubt compensate for that

It's not a bad idea to list on ebay.com but when I was listing my first items, I felt much more comfortable with ebay.ca. So long as you specify shipping to both Canada and the USA, your listing will be visible on both ebay.ca and ebay.com no matter which site it is listed on. 

Good luck as you carry forward.