Year later, 150 still jobless

Rod Woof makes didn’t mince words — it’s been a tough year.

The former Electro-Motive Diesel (EMD) worker lost his job, along with more than 600 others, last February when industrial giant Caterpillar closed the London plant, following a bitter 34-day lockout that ended Feb. 5, 2012.

“Things are pretty dire right now. I am not working. I have been doing odd jobs on the side, but that’s about it,” said Woof, 42, who worked at EMD seven years.

A welder by trade, he said he’s “waiting for things to pick up.

“I am scraping by, but I’d rather do this than make $15 an hour for Caterpillar. I never, at any time, thought we should have taken the deal.”

That “deal” is an offer from the world’s largest maker of heavy equipment — which posted record revenue of $4.9 billion a year earlier — to slash wages and benefits by about half for the 460 Canadian Auto Worker members at the plant and about another 200 salaried workers.

That closing has left in its wake, one year later, some workers who have found jobs, mostly at Cami Assembly in Ingersoll, thanks to a deal cut between GM and the CAW to give some former workers jobs at the automaker.

But for many, there has been a trail of job searches, and if they find work, it’s at much less pay.

“It breaks my heart every time I drive by that plant,” said Tim Carrie, president of CAW Local 27, representing the workers.

“It’s just a shell of a building now (and up for sale). I keep thinking how many people went through there over the years.”

Of the 460 laid-off workers, 160 will get work at Cami and a few will take work at GM’s Oshawa plant.

Of the remaining 300, about 150 have either found work or gone back to school, leaving about 150 unemployed, said Jim Wilkes, financial secretary for Local 27.

“It’s been tough to find work for these guys. If it wasn’t for them able to work at Cami, the numbers would be terrible,” Wilkes said.