Can't tell if seller hasn't shipped paid item yet or has changed mind about selling it?

ke432106
Community Member

Hello, I'm quite new to eBay (joined in January 2022) so I'm not sure if this is a common issue or if it has been answered previously, so please bear with me.

A couple of weeks ago I won an auction for a collectible statue that was described as brand new and sealed in the box.  Prior to bidding, I had contacted the seller and asked that If I won the auction and paid right away, would they be willing to open the box and send some photos of the statue prior to shipping so I could see that it was in good condition (I only asked this because I had previously puchased a brand new, sealed statue on eBay that unfortunately arrived with a manufacturer's defect).

After winning the auction, I saw that a tracking number was provided and electronic information was submitted by the seller. A day later the seller sent me some photos to show that statue was fine, after which I thanked him and confirmed that the statue was good to ship. However, the seller then sent me another message mentioning that they wish they hadn't opened the box to inspect/send me photos because now they saw how awesome the statue was. They said it was the best statue in their collection, regretted selling it and hoped it was going to a good home.

Since then I haven't received any tracking updates like I normally do for my other purchases. Usually it will indicate when the item is accepted/processed which I understand is when the post office actually receives the item. Right now it just shows that a shipping label has been created.