Am I being scammed? How would you deal with this? Advice please.

Hi -  Just wondering how I should deal with the following situation.

A buyer purchased an item a week ago and I shipped it in a bubble envelope as I have been doing for the past 12 years.  Today I receive a message stating the item was damaged and can I send them another copy.  Since I don't have another copy to send them, should I just refund?

The thing that makes me suspicious about the situation Is that the buyer emailed me shortly after buying it saying the following-

"Please send it to me very well packaged so that I don’t get it broken in any way possible."  I sent it as I mentioned above in a bubble envelope.  Never had any arrive broken in 12 years, this is the first one.  The buyer also has no feedback as they joined ebay the same day they purchased the item.

Now maybe I am being overly suspicious, but it just seems a bit odd how events have unfolded.  What would you do?  The item was not valuable and shipping was only a few dollars.  I figure I'd loose about $7 if I just refund.  Should I wait till they open a case?  I wonder if this new member plans on doing this to other sellers?

Any constructive advice would be appreciated.  Thanks.  slight_smile

Message 1 of 23
latest reply
22 REPLIES 22

Re: Am I being scammed? How would you deal with this? Advice please.

@forester_studios

Could they not still leave a negative even if I refund them?

To eBay a negative feedback is irrelevant. FB is not a measure for your selling account.

FB can be read by future buyers, so we do try to avoid negs. We can Respond to any feedback, indefinitely, and  Responses do not have to be positive. "Refused to return for full refund." would be an appropriate Response to a neg.

If you refuse Refunds, that is a Defect and does count against you.