Clearing up "Tracked Packet" Confusion

//just a heads up, this is going to be a long forum post. Get prepared for a read.

Hey everybody!

As some of you know (or may not), I've been working part time in a Postal Outlet for close to three years now to help cover my tuition costs. A Postal Outlet, for those who don't know, is a "Post Office" that is within another host business, like a Shoppers Drug Mart, or a grocery store. We offer the majority of Canada Post products and services, but by no means are we actually employees of Canada Post.

Now, as 99.9% of the sellers here recently found out, is that Small Packet Surface to the US is going to be discontinued, and every Small Packet service (US or international) is going to be losing it's $100 insurance coverage. To compensate for the changes, CP is going to be adding a service called "Tracked Packet" which will be a tracked & insured (max $100) parcel service available to the US and 20 international locations. There already have been multiple posts regarding this, so I won't be too general, I will get into specifics.

Working at a Postal Outlet, CP sends us these information emails known as "InfoPost" to inform us about important changes. We have gotten a January 2013 edition recently that explains most of the changes. What I write below is not copied exactly, is just a summary of what the big boys at Canada Post are telling us to know. Any section where you see // and then text is my comment.

Here's a summary of the infopost:

"On February 11, 2013, Tracked Packet will be introduced in all RPS post offices. This new service will include Tracked Packet - USA and Tracked Packet - International.

Tracked Packet service has been available since January 14, 2013, to commercial and online customers. As of February 11, RPS post offices can sell this service to consumers too!