New Seller - Shipping from Canada to US

Hi,

I just made an eBay account and I could only understand how shipping would work in Canada.

But eventually (actually pretty soon) I would want to be able to ship to USA but the problem is it's very confusing and the only option it would give me is giving the buyer a flat rate to USA. I'm going to be sending it through Canada Post. 

I was wondering if there is an option where eBay can calculate the cost of shipping automatically to the States depending on where they are located? Also to International?

Do I have to go to the post office every single time and make them weigh out the product and see how much it costs? I hope not because that's super tiring and inconvenient. 

Thanks. I hope this makes sense. Total newbie.

Message 1 of 5
latest reply
4 REPLIES 4

You can look up the rates ahead of time many ways, here are links to the Canada Post "manuals"

Here is the main page, once you get your solutions for small business, you would look under the business prices tab. (if not you can use the counter prices instead)

https://www.canadapost.ca/tools/pg/default-e.asp 

You'll also need to go here to get the master page to use against the look up tables:

https://www.canadapost.ca/tools/pg/prices/FSA_RateCodeLookup-e.asp 

These will allow you to look up the pricing anywhere, and will allow you to figure out your "best average" price to use for the flat rate shipping price of packages. (You will probably pick something in the top 3/4 of the price range to protect yourself)

Depending where all you ultimately ship to, here are the international customs guidelines, this will let you know what you can't ship where...

https://www.canadapost.ca/tools/pg/manual/PGintdest-e.asp

Message 2 of 5
latest reply

if you want to make life simple... 

Get a digital kitchen scale. Weigh your items (with packing materials) and input dimensions and weight when you list them.