Paypal's Great!!! If you are in the U.S. BEWARE!!!!

antiquebookhound
Community Member
Good Day Power Sellers.
I have been selling for a couple years now and have had my share of problems,mostly with Paypal.It is great to get that payment right away through them but there are also some problems that happen using this service as well that you should know about.Maybe things have changed that i am not aware of but check this out.

I sell mostly books,had a customer pay with Paypal,sent out his books (they were worth 500.00 U.S.)The buyer received them and left positive feedback.Three weeks later Paypal emails that this buyer did not receive the books and refunded him the money from my Paypal account.There is no way to recover this money as Canadians do not have any Paypal protection against this (only available in the U.S.)BEWARE THAT THIS CAN HAPPEN TO US CANADIANS!!!!!!!
#2---Lets say you are the buyer on ebay and send payment through Paypal and do not receive your item-----again the Paypal protection is only for the Americans and you cannot file for a refund.
#3---This happens quite often to me and can result in bad feedback-----Paypal does not always send you an email stating that the customer has made payment on an auction.You have to check your Paypal account often as to make sure you get the package out in a reasonable time.Sometimes the buyer does not click the Pay With Paypal link in your auction checkout and they will use the Send Payment located in their Paypal account.This type of payment will not show up in "Your Ebay" as being paid.
Just thought that you should know about these problems before they happen to you.Good Luck in the Christmas season approaching Fast.Make sure you get lots listed in advance and be ready to take advantage of those Free Listing days that appear once in a Blue Moon.
Don
Message 1 of 13
latest reply
12 REPLIES 12

firedept10
Community Member