Are we allowed to embed videos in our descriptions on ebay listings?

I feel I would be more accurate in showing my items condition through a video than by writing. I am a sloppy writer I think.

what do you think?

Message 1 of 10
latest reply
9 REPLIES 9

It's allowed.

But having spent more time than I like to admit surfing eBay when I was supposed to be working, having a video suddenly start talking might make the customer/slacker backbutton.

I understand that eBay does require that the customer actually activate the video, so I may be over-reacting.

Message 2 of 10
latest reply

Having spent yesterday morning attending the Listing Optimization that I have three times now recommended to constantine, I can say ebay would actively discourage sellers from adding video content to their listings as it increases listing load time on mobile devices. Ebay wants its sellers to use the Product Catalogue and those associated videos where applicable. 

Message 3 of 10
latest reply

You can only add link to your listing and only from certain hosts. Active content is not allowed.

See Links policy

http://pages.ebay.ca/help/policies/listing-links.html

https://ocsnext.ebay.ca/ocs/sc

Message 4 of 10
latest reply

Using video (YouTube) in your listing has ZERO effect on load times!

Embedded YouTube videos DO NOT auto-start (on eBay or anywhere else).

If you want to embed a YouTube video you should use this code generator:

http://www.isdntek.com/tagbot/YouTubeConverter.htm

"What else could I do? I had no trade so I became a peddler" - Lazarus Greenberg 1915
- answering Trolls is voluntary, my policy is not to participate.
Message 5 of 10
latest reply

You might be right but, having participated in the Listings Optimization webinar, I can tell you that ebay wants sellers to keep it simple and that their definition of simple doesn't include links to videos. Best Practises:

GoToWebinar 000 copy 4.pngGoToWebinar 000 copy 9.pngGoToWebinar 000 copy 10.png