An Open Letter To Ebay.

Hello World,

As an active seller for 5 years (since 2012)  I can safely say that this is the absolute WORST experience I have ever had...

As a growing business it is hard enough to grow our working capital without having fraud, charge backs, frozen money on paypal, con artists trying to mail us rocks back as a return with a tracking number and then of course there is the blatant lack of care for business operators that actively do business on Ebay. Violate an EBAY policy and be warned you will feel the ultimate wrath of customer service.

Today we received a 7 day restriction for selling on ebay. This was due in part to a lapse in judgement and human error. I copy+pasted our address to a customer (who I thought had already purchased the item, but did not) this was in total violation of ebay policies due to the fact that we could potentially avoid paying Ebay fees if we were to sell our product outside the ebay channel. As a business owner I completely understand the need to protect your profits and ensure that your platform remains safe to buyers but I ask.. What about sellers like us?

What about my 2 employees that I hired to answer ebay messages that now have 7 days of no work (being restricted means no new messages or inquiries due to the lack of ad visibility, unless someone is "watching" the item)

What about me and my business partner? We work every day to grind out a little profit just to survive. I kid you not we make less than $13 / hour on average - Sometimes LESS - when minimum wage in my province (alberta) is currently $12.20 an hour. As a business owner I almost don't see the point in selling on Ebay anymore. We have done over Half a million USD in sales on Ebay and not once have we ever actively tried to avoid paying ebay fees. In fact we always make our local Ebay buyers pay on Ebay, even though we could easily convert them over to POS customers. Our rule is that if it is listed on Ebay, it is paid for on Ebay. That's that.