Newbie seller with daughter

noferg7140
Community Member
Hi, I am just getting started smelling on eBay Canada. I think it would be fun, educational, useful, and profitable, to sell some things around the house that we don't use, and to do this experiment with my 12 year old daughter.
As I read, I am seeing that shipping costs in Canada are very high.
So, how do we deal with shipping costs and selling?
If the shipping is too high, then we don't earn much, or we end up having our items no t sell because the shipping costs too much to the buyer.
Thought, ideas, suggestions for my daughter and me?
Message 1 of 7
latest reply
6 REPLIES 6

Hi there.  Great idea coming to the board before jumping into selling. Can you please begin by saying where in Canada you are and what kind/size/weight/value of items would you mostly be selling?

Message 2 of 7
latest reply

You have a couple options for shipping. Either increase your asking price to cover shipping and offer free shipping, or charge actual shipping costs to your buyer. 

It depends on what you plan to sell, if your selling knick knacks and 'junk' you aren't going to have much success but if you are selling items with value (perceived or real) buyers will pay the shipping cost. 

I started out doing the same thing, listing my stuff and my daughters and it has worked out well. Shipping has always been the most confusing thing to sort out but based on your initial question I would say directly that your buyers pay for shipping, either directly or indirectly in the cost of your items.

Message 3 of 7
latest reply

First go here:

https://www.canadapost.ca/information/app/far/business/findARate?execution=e2s1

and bookmark it.

This gives you to shipping rates your customer will see, less the fuel surcharge and sales taxes. when you use Calculated Shipping.

You will be using that on dotCA (here) whenever your shipment will be over 2cm thick and 500gr.