Does shipping increases when the more you bid? Or does the seller just increases it?

infect_38
Community Member

I'm new to eBay auctions, and I notice that the higher someone bids the shipping increases. There's no import charges. It went to 20 canadian dollar to 40 dollars??  Can someone please explain. Thanks

Message 1 of 18
latest reply
17 REPLIES 17

Does shipping increases when the more you bid? Or does the seller just increases it?

Is it possible that when you saw the $20 you weren’t signed in and that the amount changed when you signed in with your actual location?  The shipping should not change when you bid and once there is a bid, the seller can’t change the shipping cost or service. 

Message 2 of 18
latest reply

There are two parts to shipping.

The first is your address.

If you are far from the seller, or in a different country, the cost of shipping will rise.

EBay does not "know" your address until you sign in and bid.

The second is not always in play.

That is the Global Shipping Program.

This is a Seller Protection program available to UK and US sellers, which charges import fees to the buyer before the seller is told to ship.

Again until you bid, the GSP does not "know" your address. Import fees cover duty, Sales Taxes (GST/PST/HST), and a small (~$5) service fee to the GSP.

Either or both can change the shipping costs.

Message 3 of 18
latest reply

Nope he/she is right. I was signed in watching an auction and the shipping cost started at 74.00 cad, and watched it steadily rise with each bid. I signed in, put in my bids, and shipping is now 157.00cad. It didn’t rectify
Message 4 of 18
latest reply

I'm not sure how that wouldo happen but I do know that it isn't possible for a seller to change the shipping cost once a bid has been entered.  What is the item number of the auction that you are referring to?

Message 5 of 18
latest reply

204341030867 Have a look
Message 6 of 18
latest reply