Am I being scammed? How would you deal with this? Advice please.

Hi -  Just wondering how I should deal with the following situation.

A buyer purchased an item a week ago and I shipped it in a bubble envelope as I have been doing for the past 12 years.  Today I receive a message stating the item was damaged and can I send them another copy.  Since I don't have another copy to send them, should I just refund?

The thing that makes me suspicious about the situation Is that the buyer emailed me shortly after buying it saying the following-

"Please send it to me very well packaged so that I don’t get it broken in any way possible."  I sent it as I mentioned above in a bubble envelope.  Never had any arrive broken in 12 years, this is the first one.  The buyer also has no feedback as they joined ebay the same day they purchased the item.

Now maybe I am being overly suspicious, but it just seems a bit odd how events have unfolded.  What would you do?  The item was not valuable and shipping was only a few dollars.  I figure I'd loose about $7 if I just refund.  Should I wait till they open a case?  I wonder if this new member plans on doing this to other sellers?

Any constructive advice would be appreciated.  Thanks.  slight_smile

Message 1 of 23
latest reply
22 REPLIES 22

Respond" I regret you are not happy with the Thing. Please return for a full refund."

If he returns it (on his own dime) refund.

If he demands a partial refund, respond " I regret you are not happy with the Thing. Please return for a full refund."

If he demands a replacement, respond " I regret you are not happy with the Thing. Please return for a full refund."

If he opens a Not As Described dispute, respond in the Dispute " I regret you are not happy with the Thing. Please return for a full refund."

If he opens the Dispute, you will probably be told by eBay to send return shipping.

This is easy with a Canadian buyer. There is a Refund link on the Paypal payment.