CP Shipping Discounts / Non-Amazon Fulfilment?

I'm still fairly new to selling any volume on Ebay.ca - we've always been mostly retail.  But I'm curious for opinions and ideas from others about shipping.  Right now, we are a level three small business shipper.  We were a level five commercial shipper earlier in the year but couldn't maintain the volume needed. 

I've played around with what it would cost to use fulfillment, but we seem to be slightly cheaper doing it ourselves. 

So my questions... what is typical for small power sellers for shipping?  Do most people just use the small business program - and at what level? 

And... is there anything out there that is cheaper for fulfillment?  We are currently refurbishing one of our old retail locations in an "Ebay Centre" with the idea of stocking a bunch more product and driving up the sales.  Before we get too far into that, I want to play with the number some more to make sure that its a better deal long term than paying someone else to store and ship our product.

When would others consider fulfillment useful? 

It would be nice to find a few other small power sellers to work with to get us all into level five or six shipping discounts. 

Message 1 of 9
latest reply
8 REPLIES 8

Are you near chitchatexpress or one of the other freight forwarders who carry shipments to the USA for shipment through the USPS?

Even with their (small ) fee, you may find using the American post office cheaper than the Canadian post office.

Tell us your location- someone will know a forwarder.

Generally the cheapest shipping is the postal system.

I find it telling that for non-urban deliveries, most couriers find it profitable to sub-contract to Canada Post.

Message 2 of 9
latest reply