Seller fees out of control

I've been selling on eBay for 21 years.  I am seriously reconsidering this relationship.  With the company taking over payment management, seller fees have increased by over 1%, but that's really just the latest example in a string of bad faith policies.  Collecting fees on shipping costs?   Dispensing payments without an itemized breakdown of the fees and deductions collected?  Layering fees, sketchy application of "taxes" (on a private seller, no less; imagine doing that to someone holding a yard sale), conflicting information from representatives?  After a net surrender of almost 16% applied to the item AND its shipping, there is a strong case made here for eBay alternatives. 

Message 1 of 19
latest reply
18 REPLIES 18

EBay has been collecting fees on shipping for years. The excuse was that some sketchey sellers were charging  99c for the item (and paying FVF on that) and $99 on shipping (where there were no FVF). EBay objected to that fee avoidance but also mentioned that this annoyed buyers, some of whom then did not buy, losing eBay more money and giving the site a bad name.

I'm not sure what you mean about taxes.

EBay collects the Internet (state) Sales Tax from American buyers, and ,like Paypal, passes it through the seller's account.

It has been a Standard Practice for payment processors for as long as I can remember. Our shop got its first merchant card account in 1979 or so, and paid Moneris/Visa/MC fees on all the payment our customers gave us including Ontario sales taxes and later on GST.

I understand the same will be happening with Australian, EU, UK and possibly Saskatchewan sales taxes in future.

We are charged GST on eBay fees. EBay fought that with Revenue Canada and lost. The only saving grace is that they were not required to collect GST on sales made before the judgement.